It’s Friday, again?

Frankly, I wouldn’t have even noticed if it wasn’t for everyone I know (online) making comments about it and leaving all those silly “TGIF” acronym posts all over their Facebook’s statuses and my favored chatrooms.

When you’re stuck in the jungle, time loses all its meaning: I usually I’m not aware of the day I’m living in. The only difference for me is that I’ll be cycling the water from my reservoirs instead of raking leaves or chopping deadwood. I’ll be also (probably) listening to a lot of music while I pump around the water (if there’s electric power, that’s it). If there isn’t any electricity, well the job must be done, anyway, by hand and a pair of buckets. Sounds boring? Well, that’s the only lifestyle I have; life in the middle of rainforest isn’t glamorous. So don’t sweat it.
This task is very important; it’s something I must perform every week, to ensure the silt that usually comes along through the water lines doesn’t clog my whole plumbing system.

Recently, I saw the pictures from that scandal related to that contaminated water in West Virginia, which caused me to go terminally LOL. It looked a lot like the water that I’ve been consuming for the past 15 years. I was, like, thinking: “Hey, I’ve seen worse!” Oh, silly, silly world!
In fact, the dreck that comes through the public water lines down here (once a month) looks even worse. I know it’s coming because I’m awake during the wee hours of the morning when they start to pump it. The underground pipes that reach my house start to rattle and groan, sounding like a T-rex with indigestion.

The first run of the incoming water looks more like something art students would use for a clay sculpturing class. I usually let the main pipe flush for 30 minutes to flush it. It doesn’t improve much, mind you. When it’s sufficiently “clear”, then I proceed to let it enter the first reservoir tank. That stuff remains there one week, letting the silt seat. When this week is up, then I send it to the second tank, where it will stay for another week before going to the main tank that sits on top of my rooftop.

And that’s the way I’ll spend the weekend… hey, don’t look at me that way! It’s one heck of an improvement from the past, when I had to funnel rain into my tanks if I wanted to have some water to bathe and cook.

Edwin Stark
Signing Off

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

